Officiating in AUS


Contact Email address –


Official Committee Terms of Reference

Judges Online Diary


To see the process for becoming an Event Judge for QREs, please see the page called ‘Event Officials’.



1. Active in Archery for a minimum of 12 months. Under certain circumstances this may be waived by the Officials Committee.

2. Attain a minimum age of 18 years.

3. Be a current financial member (Individual Affiliate) of Archery Australia.

4. Have a current Working With Children check (or your RGB’s equivalent).


attend a Judge Seminar conducted by your RGB and pass the National Judges Examinations which consist of Open Book, Closed Book and Practical, including Case Studies.


   successfully complete all 5 online judging modules at then,

   request the officials committee at to consider your application. The

   application form is available on the Archery Australia website under ‘Judges Documents’.


1. Be a current financial member (Individual Affiliate) of Archery Australia.

2. Have a current Working With Children check (or your RGB’s equivalent).

3. Serve as a National Judge Candidate for a minimum period of 12 months and a maximum period of 24 months and receive positive assessments from supervising National Judges. Under certain circumstances this time period may be extended by the Officials Committee.

4. Work as an official at 8 approved tournaments (including at least one Target and one Field tournament) under the supervision and assessment of a National Judge. While National Judge Candidates may officiate at any number of QREs, these do not count towards ‘officiating days’ unless they have been undertaken under the supervision and assessment of a National Judge. QREs may not make up more than 50% of the total officiating days required.

5. Gain a minimum of one day’s experience (or, two half-days) as Director of Shooting or Assistant Director of Shooting under the supervision and assessment of a National Judge.

6. Respond in writing to Case Studies in Judges News (a minimum of 12 case studies to be completed during NJC period).

7.  Individual NJCs are responsible for logging their progress towards gaining National Judge accreditation in their Judges Online Diary.

8. NJCs should provide a copy of the NJC Evaluation Form to their supervising National Judge at each event attended, with their personal details completed.

9. NJCs should email a copy of each evaluation to their RGB Officials Coordinator AND to


 To be re-accredited, a National Judge must actively participate as an official at the following level over a four (4) year period. ‘Participation’ can come in the form of any combination of the following, as long as the minimum is achieved:

1. Be a current financial member (Individual Affiliate) of Archery Australia.

2. Have a current Working With Children check (or your RGB’s equivalent).

3. Officiating days: Officiate as a Judge, Director of Shooting, Technical Delegate or Jury Member: (Minimum: 16 officiating days over 4 years)

                         Notes: a two-day event counts as two separate officiating days.

                        There are to be no ‘Shooting Judges’.

                        A judge who is shooting in an event is not permitted to write evaluations for any NJCs

                         at the event in which they are a competitor.

4. Case Study Responses: Respond in writing to at least 50% of all Case Studies published in the national Judges News during the re-accreditation period. (Minimum: 24 case studies responses in 4 years)

The Officials Committee via is to be copied into the responses emailed to the RGB Coordinator, as the Case Studies are also monitored nationally.

5. Other judging events: (Minimum: 4 ‘other events’)

There is an expectation that judges will work collaboratively with other judges, outside of the tournament situation, at least once per year.

This may include, but is not limited to, face-to-face, Skype or phone discussion regarding Rules and their interpretation, attending a seminar or preparing/training new NJCs. Face-to-face work-shopping of case studies is also valid. The Officials Committee will conduct two online seminars each year.

6. Individual Judges are responsible for logging their progress towards maintaining National Judge accreditation in their Judges Online Diary.


1. Judges from Other Countries

If the Chairperson of the Officials Committee and at least one RGB Administrator are satisfied that an applicant who is an accredited National Judge in another country meets the requirements for a National Judge in Australia, that person may be accredited as a National Judge or National Judge Candidate (whichever is appropriate) in Australia.

2. Extension of National Judge Candidate accreditation period

Any National Judge Candidate who, due to exceptional circumstances, does not achieve accreditation as a National Judge within 24 months shall be required to apply in writing to the Chairperson of the Officials Committee at for consideration of an extension.

This is not to be expected as automatically granted and no officiating is permitted once the original NJC period has elapsed.

3. Lapse of National Judge Accreditation

If a National Judge who loses accreditation applies for re-accreditation within two years of the loss of accreditation, he/she shall not be required to complete the online Modules, but shall serve as a National Judge Candidate for twelve months.

 If a former National Judge wishes to obtain re-accreditation after more than two years have elapsed since last accredited, he/she shall be required to undertake the full accreditation process, beginning with the online Training Modules to achieve NJC status.

 A retiring National Judge is eligible to become an Event Judge and officiate at QREs. Apply to change status by emailing

 Any Judge whose accreditation has lapsed or who is not a current financial member of Archery Australia is no longer permitted to officiate as a Judge at any level.

Accredited National Judges

Australian Capital Territory  North Queensland New South Wales  South Australia
 Stuart Atkins  Stuart Gauld  Peter Bennett  Junior Alexander
 Andrew Blunden  Alan Kemp  Kristian Chambers-McLean  Carol Ashlee
 Stephen Caldicott  Terrie Neilson  Chris Clerke  Lesley Attrill
 Greg Cox  Darren Parker  Peter Coghlan  Jim Beatty
 John Dowden  Bill Robins  Adrian Downes  Norman Biggs
 Suzanne Hartshorne  Alan Whitton  Bruce Hall  Bruce Lang
 Robert Maguire  Daniel Hunter  Christopher Lech
 Mark Newnham  Lillia Hutchinson  Graham Lock
 Stephen Slack  John Hyde  Christopher Lowe
 Paul Smith  Jim Larven  Glenn Martin
 Michael Turner  Huseyin Pilavci  Jeff Nicoll
 Anabela Robertson  Robert Welden
 David Robertson  Robert Whittlesea
 Noel Snazelle
 Adriana Tan
 Kathy Vaughan



South Queensland Tasmania Victoria  Western Australia
 Paul Beavis  Simon Allen  Anastasia Anagnostou  Coral Dandridge
 Phil Buhot  Ian Bessell  Peter Cave  Chester Gibson
 Nigel Carroll  Joshua Cortes  Chi Cheung  Kristina Glover
 Peter Clark  Mark Dixon  Ed Crowther  Gavin Pikes
 Philip Gill  Paula Duniam  Brian Fitton  Raoul Patel
 Alison Hagaman  Andrew Fluck  Fergus Forsyth  Lynda Strawbridge
 Brian Hagaman  Murray Frith  Edd Gough  Nick Towill
 Eric Halil  Eric Hermanis  Alan Howell
 Aiden Hughes  Jeff Jones  Stephen Jacobs
 Mark Logan  Phil O’Halloran  Guenter Licht
 Keith Manssen  Karen O’Malley  Sheryn Licht
 Strafford Stark  Terrence Lyons
 Lynette Rankin-Tyack  Alex Moulder
 Jack Myers
 Peter Nelson-Furnell
 Dawn Nelson-Furnell
 Debra Popov-Conroy
 Debbie Tremelling
 Susanne Womersley