Menu

Touching Arrows (Target Face or Butt) Prior to Scoring

TOUCHING ARROWS ( TARGET FACE OR BUTT) PRIOR TO SCORING

Within archery there appears to be much confusion as to the rule surrounding “touching arrows (or target face or butt) prior to scoring”.

The common misconception is if there is an arrow close to the score zone dividing line and the archer touches the arrow if it is their arrow then the lower score prevails or if the archer touches someone else’s arrow than the high score prevails.

This is totally incorrect. There is no such rule and there has never been such a rule in Archery.

In this area Archery Australia complies with World Archery rules.

World Archery Rule 14.2.1 states - None of the arrows, the target face or butt shall be touched until the value of all the arrows on that butt has been recorded.

It is very important to note there is and has never been any direct penalty for failing to comply with this rule.

In saying that if an archer does touch arrow/s (or target face or butt) prior to scoring it is the responsibility of the other archers on the target to bring this to the archer’s attention.

If the archer continues to touch arrow/s (or target face or butt) prior to scoring the other archers on the target may bring this to the attention of a Judge who may issue a warning.

Alternatively, if a Judges observes an archer touching arrow/s (or target face or butt) prior to scoring the Judge can issue a warning.

It should then be noted that under World Archery Rule 15.1.7. it states

An athlete proved to have knowingly broken any rules and regulations may be declared to be ineligible to participate in the competition. The athlete shall be disqualified and shall lose any position he may have gained.

So an archer who touches arrow/s (or target face or butt) prior to scoring and has been previously warned by breaking WA Rule 15.1.7 may be declared to be ineligible to participate in the competition by a Judge.

 

 

Sponsors

Copyright 2017 by DotNetNuke Corporation